Posted by: Christin H. | May 2, 2010

Body Reboot

This morning, I took my first ever birth control pill. It was sweeter than I expected it to be, surprisingly.
Unfortunately, I have been having some issues with my “monthy gift”. (BTW, Mother Nature, how about a car or a new couch? I wouldn’t even expect it monthly; once yearly would be just fine.) Issues, you say? Well, starting last October, my period started extending itself. It wasn’t so bad at first because before this time, it only lasted about 3-4 days anyways. I considered myself pretty lucky. When it hit 8 days in January, I started to suspect something was wrong. Because I have been so good at ignoring or denying problems, I didn’t go see a doctor until just last week. By now, my menses was on 14 days and going strong.
Enter my awesome, tiny handed, Thai OBG. She gave me the full workup and thinks that it may just be the stress of a new job (which was started mid-August) on my body and that the part of my brain that regulates hormones doesn’t know how to deal with this new-ish stressor. So she wants to “reset” my hormonal clock. She said it with such confidence, like she resets hundreds of girls on a daily basis, that I had to take her word for it. We are going to train my body to do what it is supposed to do in only 3 short months. I hope that’s enough time.


Leave a comment

Categories